Skip to content

Philomella and the Impossible Forest

A were-dragon? A talking tree? Saving a world she didn’t know existed? … Philomella’s having an unusual day.  Mystery, humour and sparkling magic combine in this middle-grade fantasy-adventure novel – perfect for fans of  The World Between Blinks and The Phantom Tollbooth .

When Philomella is drawn into the Impossible Forest – a place where anything can happen and usually does – she’s headed for all the adventure she never wanted. There’s a belligerent princess to rescue, trolls to battle and a treacherously bewitching river to cross … and that’s just for starters. They’re all part of a mysterious enemy’s grand plan to destroy both the Forest  and Philomella – and in this world of strange and dangerous magic, she’ll have to beat her deadly opponent using only her brains.

And so, joined by some oddball companions (including a picnic basket with attitude, a boy whose ancestors were trees and a grandmother with weaponised kitchenware), Philomella sets out to do the impossible.  

Can Philomella save the Forest? 
And can she also learn how to save herself?

Published by Hardie Grant Children’s Publishing, NSW Australia, 2023.

Preorder the book from Booktopia

Launch of Philomella and the Impossible Forest at Readings book store St Kilda on 7th May 2023

Reviews:

The book’s middle-grade audience will love the relatable Philomella … who is exactly the hero we need right now. … Doris Brett’s background in clinical psychology is evident in this emotionally intelligent book with lessons on forgiveness and self-worth … There’s a sense of hope and playfulness in the world Brett has created that is needed now more than ever. …Philomella acts as a timely reminder not to underestimate kindness in the face of danger, and the importance of looking beneath the surface of those around us.

Bec Kavanagh – Books + Publishing